About the Agency

The Selective Service System is an independent agency within the Executive Branch of the U.S. Federal Government. The Director of Selective Service is appointed by the President of the United States. Selective Service is not part of the Department of Defense.

Statutory Authority

The legislation under which this agency operates is the Military Selective Service Act, 50 U.S.C. 3801 et seq. (formerly 50 U.S.C. App 451 et seq.).

“The Selective Service system shall be maintained as an active standby organization… .”

[Sec. 3809 (h), Military Selective Service Act]

Selective Service Vision

We are a trusted, actively engaged National Defense partner, and the sole source of conscripted talent for national security in the event of a national emergency.

Selective Service Mission

To register men and maintain a system that, when authorized by the President and Congress, rapidly provides personnel in a fair and equitable manner while managing an alternative service program for conscientious objectors.


Director Donald M. Benton Director, Donald M. Benton

Donald M. Benton was sworn in as the 13th Director of the U.S. Selective Service System on April 13, 2017. He was appointed by President Donald Trump on April 11, 2017.

Read More

Senior Staff

Deputy Director
John P. Prigmore

Chief of Staff
Wadi A. Yakhour

General Counsel
Rudy G. Sanchez

Craig T. Brown

Support Services & Chief Financial Officer
Roderick R. Hubbard

Public and Intergovernmental Affairs
Matthew H. Tittmann (Acting)

Chief Information Security Officer
Anthony Clark

Data Management Center 
Nicole F. Harris

Region I
Thomas J. Kenney

Region II 
Carlos M. Perez

Region III 
John J. Wilber