Skip to main content
Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

State-Commonwealth Legislation

Legislation by States, Territories, and the District of Columbia

Maintaining a high compliance rate is of great importance because it means that any future draft instituted by Congress and the President in a national emergency would be fair and equitable. Also, men who fail to register with Selective Service are not eligible for certain programs and benefits that Congress and most states and territorial legislatures and the District of Columbia have linked to registration. They include student loans and grants for college, government jobs, and job training. Additionally, immigrant men residing in the U.S. who failed to register when they were at least 18 years old, but not yet 26 years old, may be denied U.S. citizenship by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Many states and territories have passed legislation that supports the federal Selective Service registration requirement. The most current legislation linked to Selective Service registration are driver’s license legislation (DLL) and Solomon- and Thurmond-like legislation.

  1. Driver’s License: There are two forms of DLL, optional and automatic. States with optional DLL allow men 18-25 to opt in or out of having their information transferred to Selective Service for registration by checking a box when applying for a state learner’s permit, driver’s license or renewal, or I.D. card. States with automatic DLL process a man’s application for a state learner’s permit, driver’s license or renewal, or I.D. card as consent to have his information automatically transferred to Selective Service for registration if he is between the ages of 18-25.
  2. Education: The Solomon Amendment added Section 12(f) to the Military Selective Service Act in September 1982. Male students who have a requirement to register with Selective Service must satisfy that requirement as an eligibility precondition for receipt of Title 4 federal student financial aid. Title 4 aid includes such need-based programs as Guaranteed Student Loans and Pell Grants.
  3. Government Employment: In November 1985, the Thurmond Amendment to the Defense Authorization Act established Title 5, U.S. Code, Section 3328, which requires Selective Service registration (of men who are required to register) as a prerequisite for appointment to most federal jobs.

Each highlighted state or commonwealth has their own legislation.

Results will update after you select a state from the menu.

US map
Alabama map

Alabama

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On October 1, 2001, an Alabama law became effective in which a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. Gov. Don Siegelman signed this legislation on May 17, 2001. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions was November 1, 2001.

Selective Service registration  is required to be eligible to enter institutions of higher learning. Registration is also required as a prerequisite for state employment and promotion. This legislation was signed by Gov. Guy Hunt in 1991, and became effective on January 1, 1992.

Alaska map

Alaska

Driver’s License: None

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

Other: Yes, registration required for Permanent Fund Dividend

Alaska does require men to register with the Selective Service System as a precondition to state employment, to receive state financial aid for school, and, unique to Alaska, to receive a permanent fund dividend. Signed by Gov. Tony Knowles on June 27, 2002, this bill became effective on January 1, 2004.

Arizona map

Arizona

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On April 24, 2003, Gov. Janet Napolitano signed into law a bill which states a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on January 1, 2004, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Arizona requires registration with the Selective Service System as a condition for state financial aid for school as well as a precondition for state employment. Signed by Gov. Rose Mofford in 1988.

Arkansas map

Arkansas

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On February 20, 2001, Gov. Huckabee signed into law a bill which states a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on January 1, 2002, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Requires registration with the Selective Service System as a condition for receiving a state education loan, scholarship, or other state financial assistance. Signed into law by Gov. Bill Clinton on February 22, 1989. Also, requires compliance with the Military Selective Service Act as a precondition for state employment or enrollment in a public institution of higher learning. Signed by Gov. Mike Huckabee in 1997.

California map

California

Driver’s License: None

Education & Government Employment: Yes, financial aid only

California requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Signed into law by Gov. Pete Wilson in 1997.

Colorado map

Colorado

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, state school enrollment only

On August 8, 2001, a Colorado law became effective in which a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. Gov. Bill Owens signed the bill on May 30, 2001. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions was September 4, 2001.

Requires statement of compliance from male students born after December 31, 1959, before they are allowed to enroll at a state supported college or university. Gov. Dick Lamm allowed the bill to become law in 1987.

Connecticut map

Connecticut

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: None

A driver’s license legislation states a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. This bill passed state legislature and was signed by the governor. The start date was September 1, 2013, when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from these applications.

Delaware map

Delaware

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On August 3, 2000, Gov. Thomas R. Carper signed into law a bill which states that a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. March 2001, was when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from driver’s license and renewal, permit, or state I.D. card applications.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state employment and state student financial aid. Signed by Gov. Michael N. Castle in 1986.

District of Columbia map

District of Columbia

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-out

Education & Government Employment: None

On April 27, 2001, Mayor Anthony Williams signed a law stipulating that men, age 18 through age 25, in the District can opt in to be registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain or renew a District driver’s license. The effective date was October 1, 2002, and the start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions was October 30, 2002. The 2001 DC law for Selective Service registration was amended in 2012. It was amended in 2012 from requiring a male applicant to opt in to requiring a male applicant to opt out by the “Access to Selective Service Registration Amendment Act of 2012.”

 

Florida map

Florida

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On September 1, 2001, a Florida law became effective which states a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. Gov. Jeb Bush signed this legislation on June 5, 2001. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions was October 1, 2001.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Signed by Gov. Bob Graham in 1985. A law signed by Gov. Bob Martinez in 1988, requires registration as a precondition for state employment.

Georgia map

Georgia

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On July 1, 2001, a Georgia law became effective in which a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. Gov. Roy Barnes signed this legislation on April 18, 2001. July 1, 2001, was the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Signed by Gov. Joe Frank Harris in 1986. A law, signed by Gov. Zell Miller on July 1, 1998, requires proof of registration as a precondition for state employment.

Guam map

Guam

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Government Employment: None

On May 3, 2004, Gov. Felix P. Camacho signed a law stipulating that men age 18 through age 25 in Guam may opt to be registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain or renew a state driver’s license. This law became effective on September 1, 2004. The start date was December 9, 2004, when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Hawaii map

Hawaii

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: None

A law became effective on January 1, 2002, in which a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. This law was signed by Gov. Benjamin J. Cayetano on May 3, 2001. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions was January 1, 2002.

Idaho map

Idaho

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Government Employment: Yes, enrollment and financial aid only

On March 21, 2002, Gov. Kempthorne signed a law stipulating that men of Selective Service registration age in Idaho may opt to be registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain or renew a state driver’s license. This law became effective on July 1, 2002, the same date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Young men must be registered with the Selective Service System to be eligible for state employment and state enrollment in post-secondary institutions, including financial aid for this schooling. Signed by Gov. Dirk Kempthorne on March 26, 1999.

Illinois map

Illinois

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

A state legislation became effective on January 1, 2002, in which a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. Gov. George Ryan signed this legislation on July 20, 2001. January 1, 2002, was the start date when electronic data was transmitted to Selective Service.

Selective Service registration is a precondition for state student financial aid and later registration became a precondition for state employment. Gov. James Thompson signed these legislations in 1984 and 1989, respectively.

Indiana map

Indiana

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Government Employment: None

On April 25, 2007, Governor Mitch Daniels signed into law a bill which states men of Selective Service registration age may opt-in to get registered with the Selective Service System when obtaining a state driver’s license or an I.D. card. The start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions was June 25, 2009.

Iowa map

Iowa

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Government Employment: None

On April 21, 2003, Gov. Tom Vilsack signed into law a bill stipulating that men, age 18 through age 25, in Iowa may opt to get registered with Selective Service when they apply to obtain or renew a state driver’s license, permit, or state I.D. card. This law became effective on July 1, 2003, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Kansas map

Kansas

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: None

On April 10, 2003, Gov. Kathleen Sebelius signed into law a bill in which a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on July 1, 2003, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Kentucky map

Kentucky

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Government Employment: Yes, state educational loan program

On March 12, 2003, Gov. Paul E. Patton signed into law a bill which states men, age 18 through age 25, in Kentucky may opt to get registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain or renew a state driver’s license. This law became effective on July 1, 2003; the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from opted-in applications was November 17, 2003.

State regulations requires proof of Selective Service registration to be eligible for the state educational loan program.

Louisiana map

Louisiana

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, state educational loan program only

On July 1, 2003, a Louisiana law became effective which states a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. Gov. Foster signed this legislation on June 18, 2003. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions was August 19, 2002.

Louisiana has a law in which Selective Service registration is required for entry to any state school.  Another law requires Selective Service registration to be eligible for certain classified and unclassified state civil service positions.

Maine map

Maine

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Government Employment: Yes, state financial aid only

The driver’s license legislation in which men can opt-into have their information transmitted to the Selective Service System for registration was enacted (without governor’s signature) on May 18, 2011. Maine’s Department of Motor Vehicles began collecting and sending Selective Service’s Registration Form 1s in June 2011; there are no electronic data transmissions underway.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid.

Maryland map

Maryland

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-out

Education & Government Employment: None

On May 6, 2002, Gov. Parris N. Glendening signed a law requiring Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration to place the option on application forms for men under the age of 26 to be registered with the Selective Service System. However, the law never went into effect because there was a question of available funding. Thus, there is no start date when Selective Service would begin to receive electronic data transmissions.

Massachusetts map

Massachusetts

Driver’s License: None

Education & Government Employment: Yes, state financial aid only

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Gov. Michael Dukakis allowed the bill to become law in 1984.

Michigan map

Michigan

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Federal Employment: None

On January 4, 2007, Governor Jennifer M. Granholm signed into law a bill which gives men under the age of 26 the option to consent to have their information forwarded to Selective Service for registration when obtaining a state driver’s license or renewal, or an I.D. card. The start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions for those applicants who opted-in for Selective Service registration was October 1, 2010.

Minnesota map

Minnesota

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Federal Employment: None

On May 13, 2004, Gov. Tim Pawlenty signed a law in which a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to be registered automatically with the Selective Service System. This law became effective May 16, 2005, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Mississippi map

Mississippi

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Federal Employment: Yes, both

A state legislation, which was signed on March 19, 2002, by Gov. Ronnie Musgrove, states men age 18 through age 25, who are required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who apply for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, are automatically registered with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on September 1, 2002; the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions was January 1, 2003.

Enacted two pieces of legislation. One requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Gov. William Allain signed this legislation in 1984. The other requires registration as a precondition for state employment and was signed by Gov. Kirk Fordice in 1999.

Missouri map

Missouri

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Federal Employment: Yes, both

On July 11, 2002, Gov. Bob Holden signed a law giving Missouri men under the age of 26 the option to be registered with Selective Service when they apply to obtain a state driver’s license or renewal, or instruction permit application. This law became effective on August 28, 2002, and the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions for those who opted-in for Selective Service registration on their application was July 1, 2003.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state employment and state student financial aid. Signed by Gov. Mel Carnahan on July 14, 1999.

Montana map

Montana

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Federal Employment: Yes, both

On April 7, 2005, legislation was signed which gives men age 18 through age 25 the option to be registered with the Selective Service System. This law became effective October 1, 2005, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving Registration Form 1s for those who opted-in on their application to get registered with the Selective Service System.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state employment and state student financial aid. Signed by Gov. Judy Martz on April 21, 2001.

Nebraska map

Nebraska

Driver’s License: None

Education & Government Employment: None

Nebraska does not have driver’s license legislation, or Solomon- or Thurmond-like legislations in place at this time.

Nevada map

Nevada

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-out

Education & Government Employment: None

On May 22, 2009, Gov. Jim Gibbons signed a law stipulating that men age 18 through age 25 in Nevada may opt to get registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain or renew a state driver’s license. This law became effective on July 1, 2010, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions. On May 14, 2016, Gov. Brian Sandoval amended the law from requiring a male applicant to opt in to requiring a male applicant to opt out. The amendment went into effect on August 12, 2016.

New Hampshire map

New Hampshire

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Federal Employment: Yes, both

On May 8, 2002, Gov. Shaheen signed a law stipulating that men under the age of 26 in New Hampshire may opt to consent to be registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain or renew a state driver’s license. This law became effective on July 7, 2002; the start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions from those who opted-in for Selective Service registration on their application form was September 9, 2002.

Young men must be registered with Selective Service to be eligible for state employment and state enrollment in post-secondary institutions, including financial aid for this schooling. Signed by Gov. Jeanne Shaheen July 31, 1998.

New Jersey map

New Jersey

Driver’s License: None

Education & Federal Employment: Yes, state financial aid only

New Jersey requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Gov. Christine Todd Whitman signed this legislation in 1997.

New Mexico map

New Mexico

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Federal Employment: None

On April 8, 2003, Gov. Bill Richardson signed into law a bill which states men, age 18 through age 25, who are required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who apply for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consent to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on July 1, 2003. Selective Service had been receiving electronic data transmissions since July 1, 2001, when the legislation was initially worded such that men had the option to have their information forwarded to Selective Service for registration. When the legislation was revised for automatic registration, the data transmission process was already in place.

New York map

New York

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-out

Education & Federal Employment: None

On June 17, 2019, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo signed the “Driver’s License Access and Privacy Act” which provides applicants with the option of registering with Selective Service.  The law was enacted on December 14, 2019.

North Carolina map

North Carolina

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Federal Employment: Yes, both

A state legislation was signed into law on October 17, 2002, by Gov. Michael Easley, which states a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on April 1, 2003. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from these applications was November 3, 2003.

Enacted two pieces of legislation: One requires Selective Service registration for certain veterans’ dependents financial aid programs and another requires registration as a precondition for state employment and state educational assistance. Gov. James Martin signed these bills in 1985 and 1989, respectively.

North Dakota map

North Dakota

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Federal Employment: Yes, student financial aid only

On April 8, 2019, Gov. Doug Burgum signed into law a bill which states a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on August 1, 2019.

Selective Service registration is a precondition for student financial aid. Signed by Gov. George Sinner in 1987.

Northern Mariana Islands map

Northern Mariana Islands

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, government employment only

A law signed on November 30, 2001, by Gov. Tenorio, states a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from these applications was November 1, 2001.

Requires Selective Service registration as a prerequisite to employment with the Commonwealth government. Signed by Gov. Pedro P. Tenorio, the legislation became effective March 15, 1999.

Ohio map

Ohio

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, state financial aid only

On November 2, 2001, Gov. Bob Taft signed a law which states a person age 18 through age 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on August 1, 2002, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions from these applications.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Requires any resident male not registered with Selective Service to pay out-of-state tuition rate. Gov. Richard Celeste allowed this bill to become law in 1986.

Oklahoma map

Oklahoma

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, state financial aid only

On June 1, 2000, Gov. Frank Keating signed into law a bill which states a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. This law became effective November 1, 2000, for collecting registration forms; the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from applications was on March 1, 2005.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Signed by Gov. Henry Bellmon in 1987.

Oregon map

Oregon

Driver’s License: None

Education & Government Employment: None

Pennsylvania map

Pennsylvania

Driver’s License: None

Education & Government Employment: None

Puerto Rico map

Puerto Rico

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Government Employment: None

Driver’s license legislation was signed into law by the governor on December 12, 2011, which gives men, age 18 through age 25, the option to consent for their information be forwarded to Selective Service for registration. There is no data transmission at this time.

Rhode Island map

Rhode Island

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: None

On June 27, 2002, a bill became law (without governor’s signature) which states a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. The start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions was January 1, 2003.

South Carolina map

South Carolina

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: None

On June 5, 2002, Gov. Jim Hodges signed into law a bill which states that a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. The start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions was June 28, 2004.

South Dakota map

South Dakota

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On February 23, 2002, Gov. William J. Janklow signed into law a bill which states that a person age 18 through age 25, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. This law became effective July 1, 2002, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from these applications.

Requires Selective Service registration before acceptance to all state schools and as a precondition to state employment. Signed by Gov. George S. Mickelson in 1988.

Tennessee map

Tennessee

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On May 29, 2002, Gov. Don Sundquist signed into law a bill which states that a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on December 1, 2002. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from driver’s license applications was June 2, 2003.

Requires Selective Service registration before acceptance to all state schools. Signed by Gov. Lamar Alexander in 1984. Registration is also required as a precondition for state employment. Gov. Ned McWherter signed this legislation in 1987.

Texas map

Texas

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On June 15, 2001, Gov. Rick Perry signed a law stipulating that men, age 18 through age 25, in Texas have the option to get registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain or renew a state driver’s license. This law became effective on December 9, 2002, and Selective Service started receiving data transmissions on that same date. Later, an amendment to the existing driver’s license legislation was signed into law by the governor on May 28, 2011, which states that a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, is automatically registered with the Selective Service System. The effective date for automatic transmission was September 1, 2011, and Selective Service continued to receive electronic data transmissions from these applications as before.

Requires men to be in compliance with the federal Selective Service registration requirement to be eligible for state student financial assistance. The law was passed in 1997. Effective September 1, 1999, state employment is contingent upon Selective Service registration or exemption.

Utah map

Utah

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, state financial aid only

On March 15, 2001, Gov. Leavitt signed into law a bill which states that a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to automatic registration with the Selective Service System. The law became effective on May 14, 2001, which was the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid. Signed by Gov. Michael O. Leavitt in March 1998.

Vermont map

Vermont

Driver’s License: None

Education & Government Employment: None

Virginia map

Virginia

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On March 6, 2002, by Gov. Mark Warner, which states that a person under the age of 26, who is required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who applies for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consents to be automatically registered with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on July 1, 2002. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions from these applications was August 7, 2002.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for student financial aid. Signed by Gov. James Gilmore on April 14, 1998, and became effective July 1, 1998. Requires registration as a precondition for state employment and was signed by Gov. Gilmore on April 5, 1999.

Virgin Islands map

Virgin Islands

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: None

Legislation, signed on February 20, 2002, by Gov. Charles Turnbull, stipulates that young men in the Commonwealth, under the age of 26, who are required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law consent to be automatically registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or I.D. card. This law became effective July 1, 2002, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

Washington map

Washington

Driver’s License: Yes, opt-in

Education & Government Employment: None

The bill was signed by Gov. Christine Gregoire on May 16, 2011, which stipulates that men under the age of 26 in Washington may opt to get registered with the Selective Service System when they apply to obtain or renew a state driver’s license. It became effective January 1, 2012, which was also the start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions.

West Virginia map

West Virginia

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On June 9, 2002, a West Virginia law became effective which gives men age 18 through age 25, who are required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who apply for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, the option to get registered with the Selective Service System. Gov. Bob Wise signed this legislation on April 3, 2002. The start date when Selective Service began receiving electronic data transmissions was March 24, 2003. On June 8, 2016, Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin signed legislation to require eligible males to be automatically registered with the Selective Service. This amendment became effective on June 8, 2016.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state student financial aid and state employment. On April 8, 1999, Gov. Cecil H. Underwood signed the bill, which became effective on July 1, 1999.

Wisconsin map

Wisconsin

Driver’s License: Yes, automatic

Education & Government Employment: Yes, both

On April 22, 2002, Gov. McCullum signed into law a bill which states that Wisconsin men, age 18 through age 25, who are required to be registered with Selective Service under federal law and who apply for a state driver’s license or renewal, permit, or state I.D. card, consent to be automatically registered with the Selective Service System. This law became effective on November 1, 2002. The start date when Selective Service began receiving data transmissions from these applications was August 1, 2003.

Requires Selective Service registration as a precondition for state employment and state student financial aid. The bill was signed by Gov. Scott McCallum on August 30, 2001, and became effective January 1, 2002.

Wyoming map

Wyoming

Driver’s License: None

Education & Government Employment: None