Pulbications title bar
Search the Selective Service Web Site
Return to the Selective Service Home Page
About the Agency
Agency Registration Information
Agency News and Public Affairs
What's New at the Agency
Agency Contact Information
Career Opportunities at Selective Service
Agency Privacy Policy
Agency History and Records
Agency Publications
Agency Fact Facts
What Happens in a Draft
Selective Service Site Map

Thank you for your interest in the Selective Service System. The following information is provided to give you a brief overview of the Selective Service System in general, and the Board Member Program specifically. This publication will not attempt to describe the many facets of board functions and operations. A thorough training program has been developed for this purpose and, if you are selected, will be provided to you at a later date.

The Selective Service System is an independent Agency within the Executive Branch of the Federal government. The legislation under which the Agency operates is the Military Selective Service Act (MSSA).

The MSSA, along with its implementing regulations, provides that the structure of the Agency include a National Headquarters, a State Headquarters in each state, and one each for New York City, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

The current structure of the Selective Service System also includes three Region Headquarters. The National Headquarters and Region Headquarters make up the contingency of full-time employees of Selective Service. See Figure 1 below.

National Headquarters and it's region headquarters


Last Updated June 16, 2004
©2007 Selective Service System