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LAWS LINKING SSS REGISTRATION TO STATE 
DRIVER’S LICENSE APPLICATIONS

Background

Federal law (50 U.S.C. App. 451 et seq.) requires virtually all male U.S. citizens, as well 
as immigrant men residing in the U.S., to register with the Selective Service System (SSS) 
when reaching age 18. In an effort to ensure compliance among young men, many states 
have enacted legislation which links SSS registration with the process of applying for a 
driver’s license or state identification card. As a result of such legislation, in May 2002, the 
state of Delaware, which enacted driver’s license legislation in 2000, became the first state 
to reach nearly 100 percent registration compliance since the Agency began compiling this 
data. In that same year, seven other states increased their compliance rates by 3 percent 
or more after enacting similar driver’s license legislation.

Maintaining a high compliance rate is of concern to officials because it means that any 
future draft instituted by Congress and the President in a national emergency would be 
fair and equitable. Also, men who fail to register with Selective Service are not eligible for 
certain programs and benefits that the Congress and 30 state legislatures have linked to 
registration. They include student loans and grants for college, most government jobs, and 
job training. Additionally, immigrant men residing in the U.S. who fail to register when they 
are at least 18 years old, but not yet 26 years old, may be denied U.S. citizenship by the 
Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Description of Typical State Driver’s License Legislation

These laws are simple and inexpensive to implement. They instruct the state’s Department 
of Public Safety or Motor Vehicles to include a consent statement on all applications or 
renewals for driver’s permits, licenses, and identification cards. The statement tells the 
applicant that by submitting the application he is consenting to his registration with the 
SSS, if so required by Federal law. Females are not required to register with SSS under 
current law. Men 26 years of age or beyond are too old to register.
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Transmission of applicant data to the SSS is accomplished electronically through an existing 
arrangement each state has with the data sharing system of the American Association of 
Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVAnet) at no extra cost to the state.

Status of State Driver’s License Legislation

As of May 21, 2004, 33 states, 3 territories, and the District of Columbia have enacted 
driver’s license laws supporting SSS registration. They are: (1) Enacted and                         
 Implemented  -  Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, 
Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, 
New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, 
Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Virgin 
Islands, and the District of Columbia; (2) Enacted But Not Yet Implemented - Guam, 
Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Wisconsin. 

Although driver’s license legislation is having a significant impact on improving compliance 
rates in those states that require registration in order to receive or renew a license or 
identification card, it is having minimal impact on improving compliance in states, such as 
Texas, which make the link with SSS registration optional.
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